The First Week’s stops in a Nutshell.

The Virtual Book Tour.

How did the first week go? Some good visits, but less participation by visitors than I had hoped for. However, the links at each of the sites I describe below enable a visitor to catch up to the tour at their own schedule. The length of the addresses make it difficult for all software to turn them all into clickable links, but they can be pasted into your browser to take you directly to the feature.

Monday – The Book Connection http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2008/03/speculative-fiction-author-christopher.html
Allowed me to discuss how to and how not to write from your own experience, as well as a novel that never materialized because real life trumped it. The blog received only two comments, and one was mine.

Tuesday – The Blog Radio interview http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sydneymolare/2008/03/04/Guest-Chris-Hoare for You Don’t know Jack was much more interesting than I’d expected. I have to accept that having the dynamic of a live interview and interaction between host and guest raises it above the words frozen on the screen. I had been skeptical about it ahead of time, but I’m looking to find out how to post a link to it on this blog.

Wednesday – Buzz the Book
http://buzzthebook.blogspot.com/2008/03/wildcats-victory-by-chris-hoare.html turned out to be a fine encapsulation of the story I want to share. I liked the excerpt chosen for my novel, but after reading the later spotlight of William Hay’s The Originals, which featured a fine snapshot of the action, I felt I would have liked to have picked a later and more vivid scene. Buzz the Book did receive an apt comment from a reader – Bill Hay who is also on Tour this month.

Thursday – The visit to Paperback Writer http://rebecca2007.wordpress.com/2008/03/05/the-wildcats-victory-author-interview/ gave me an opportunity to describe the process of writing The Wildcat’s Victory and finding a publisher for it. The site has many such interviews that give a visitor a good window into the motivations and experiences of a group of authors.

Friday – Beyond the Books http://beyondthebooks.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/interview-with-speculative-fiction-author-christopher-hoare/
Featured an interview that explored my writing experiences on the road to being published with Deadly Enterprise and The Wildcat’s Victory as well as a bit of work to come.

So the first week is over, but the Tour has five visits next week. I’ll post the week’s schedule tomorrow after I check there are no last minute changes. The contest to WIN A COPY of The Wildcat’s Victory is still on. Visit the tour sites and make a comment to be eligible for the draw.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

