Day Ten and a phishing experience?

Today the Tour visits the Fiction Scribe http://www.fictionscribe.com/  Come on over and read the interview, I think I opened up more on some questions about writing the book.

I think I should post something about a strange occurrence that’s happened with my promotion for The Wildcat’s Victory – on Facebook. I believe (if I can trust my memory) that I posted the release of the novel as an announcement . . . something that goes out on a wide distribution to the membership. I received a reply on an internal message service that sounded to be from a young person. She claimed to be interested in buying the book, had mistaken my words to say this was a used book for sale, and that she wanted it for her cousin. She had a long list of questions about condition of the book, publisher and what-have-you.

Thinking to be kind to a young person I decided to send a reply from my regular e-mail with a blurb and an attached cover image – as well as a caution about an explicit sexual image in one scene. I sent links to the book on Double Dragon Publishing and Amazon.

This is the reply I received:-
HELLO,
How are you doing today, so am very sorry for late reply and am okay with condition and price of this item so i want you to get back to me now with your full name and address also yourphone number asap………………Okay

I replied that it was not okay, and that she didn’t need anything more than I’d sent previously. No reply to that. Am I too suspicious or was someone looking for enough personal information to rip me off?

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Day Ten and a phishing experience?”

  1. Vivian Says:

    Yep, I would say you were targeted. You were smart to answer the second time as you did.

    And good luck on your blog tour. Sounds as if it’s going well.

    Vivian

  2. Jim Selleck Says:

    Alas, you encountered some of the staticky background noise that interferes with all serious uses of the Internet. Some (possibly most) of the emails such as you quoted are not even sent by a human, but generated by an algorithmic ‘bot’ that scours the internet looking for pages that contain certain key words paired with email addresses.

    Typically these messages may come from programs written by nice folks in Russia or China who do not speak English, thus the clumsy and often erroneous grammar.

    If you post something for sale on Craig’s List you will receive quite a few such inquiries. Ebay is better at stopping them.

    Unfortunately, since you did reply using your personal email address, you have given it to a person who WAS phishing. However, there are thousands of bored kids out there running these programs, many of whom have no idea how to exploit the identity information if they get it.

    So… at worst you may find yourself on every SPAM list in the known universe starting immediately. At best, you may skate away unscathed, but better educated.

  3. Joy Says:

    Yes, I would agree that you were being phished. You did the right thing not giving this person what they asked for.

Leave a Reply

